Cox Middle School History

  • Mr. CoxHistory of E. A. Cox Middle School

    After much planning by the Maury County School Board and the Maury County Commission, E. A. Cox Middle School opened in August 1997. The school was named for long-time Maury County educator Edward Alexander (Ed) Cox. Mr. Cox served Maury County Schools as teacher and superintendent for many years. His career in education was highlighted by his service as Tennessee Commissioner of Education.

    Dr. Mary Reel served as first principal of E. A. Cox Middle School, coming on board in the final construction phases. At its peak enrollment, CMS housed over 1,000 students. Dr. Debbie Steen took the reigns as principal in July 2002. She served as principal of CMS until the conclusion of the 2012 school year. At that time, Mr. Eric Perryman assumed the role of school principal and served until the end of the 2015 school year. Dr. Tim Webb was named principal to begin the 2015-2016 school year.

    Like so many other schools over the years, the school has faced changes in student population, staffing, and administration. Nevertheless, the red and black colors of the Cox Middle School Cougars continue to fly high and proud.